Friday, August 04, 2006

 

Our trip to Healesville Animal Sanctuary.

NO PIRATE THEMES IN THIS POST!

Now that's that out of the way, onto the story. Well, recently those of the left behinds that are still in Melbourne decided to go on a little day trip to an animal SANCTUARY. Not a zoo mind you, a SANCTUARY. IN order to get there at a reasonable time we had to get up at about 6am. That's a one hour lie in for me folks, so I was a-o-k. The others were grumpy, yawny and that kinda annoyed my so I showed it! I mean, we were on our way to see KANGAROOS and stuff.

Here Fiona shows how tired everyone was.
Fiona and Ray Ray

Emma was SO TIRED she accidentally sat down beside ME on the tram... Even though I was furious.
TRAM, yo.

The girls, before we left, didn't stop for even a minute about how cute Australian marsupials are and all sickening crumminess like that. Hence I was surprised when Rachel and Emma 'conquered' Australia by stomping a baby Roo (they're called a Joey) into the ground and then lording it over all the Australians in the SANCTUARY. Nutso ladies.
Oh lord.

Then in a complete reversal of fortune for tiny Australia, the girls 'saw' a koala and in their haste ran over to hug (Rachel the harlot!), poke (typical Fiona) and kiss (shame on you Healy) it.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

IT'S A STATUE you plonkers!

Luckily for koalas everywhere, they didn't realise it was a statue until afterwards. PLONKERS.

Ah but then. Then we turned a corner and saw a REAL LIFE KOALA BEAR. Check this fatty out! This guy was just sitting in a tree, minding his own business even though there were three squealing Irish girls and a Ronan trying to get his attention. But Mr. Koala was way too cool to play ball. That guy was so book.
KOALA!

Then I felt like I had been punched in the back by Mike Tyson. But no, it was just this Emu guy looking like he was GOING to kick or peck me or something. His LOOK hurt.
Emuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

And you know how some people walk around terrified of Kangaroos? Well, that's just silly. For one thing the Roos are pretty cool. Also, they are LAZY. SO LAZY. I mean this guy is so lazy he wouldn't even get off a sofa to look for a remote control.
Havin a bud.

After the kangaroos we faced almost certain death. A pantheon of pelicans were guarding the path and they are big with beaks the size of trees. Also they smell. But as intimidated as we were, we stepped through the fence and they were pretty cool guys! They even lined up for my fancy photo!
Peliwhats?

Each of my flatmates and teammates had their very own favourite animals in the sanctuary. Emma's was the Platypus. Platypus' are amazing and TINY. It really does look like someone's playing a huge joke on the whole world. Anyways, they're pretty fast and mostly underwater so I couldn't get a photo of a real life one. Fiona managed to get a few here though. It's little statue will just have to do I'm afraid. Rackers favourite was the wombat because it is a puddin'. Also because it is super cute apparently, even if it has given rise to the affectionate term 'bag of dirt'. All of you! I command you go forth and call you significant other your 'bag of dirt'!
platypus

wombat

There were so many creatures it is impossible to go over them all. But I'll do a couple more anyways! Here is a dingo, which is SIMILAR to but not THE SAME as a dog and also crazy fruit bats! WOOOOOO!
dingoes!

fruity bats

And then we went home. Everyone was pretty pooped because of the extra walking and stuff. Rachel was even asleep on the train. It wasn't until I looked at this picture on the aul computator that I noticed she had STOLEN A BABY WOMBAT. Check it out peeping out of her BAG (typo fixed 06/08/2006!)! Jeepers!

Thieving Rachel!


That is all!

Comments:
By back did you mean bag?

TYPYRO!!

The fruit bats look the awesomest of all. I would be a bat in my next life. A bat in thailand would be best I think. I was vaguely jealous until we got free jaffa cakes just now. Work is FANTASTIC.
 
did the dingo get anyones baby??!!

Oh I'm sorry but I just had to...I just had to. No jaffa cakes for me but i think I may have just discovered a new type of spider. nope. Just a leaf. I'm only slightly jealous....
 
The new best Marsupial in the whole wide world is the Quakka. They are, I have to say, almost as cute as the Platypus. Guys, leave Melbourne and come to Perth! It's fantastic! (The good weather also helps)
 
I did indeed mean bag. Stupid me...

The fruitbats were pretty awesome guys, all hanging upside down looking menacing and stuff. I tried to steal you one Sad Ryu, I really did.

The dingos got three babies and two toddlers on the day we were there, but they were really annoying children who deserved it.

There is a lethal spider that looks like a leaf! RUN AWAY FRANCES! RUN LIKE THE WIND!

Quakka? Is it a duck?
 
But but but Typro!!

You don't understand!!
 
I've sent a postcard with Quakkas on them so you'll see their cuteness very soon.
 
Me too! Me too! ME TOO!
 
I'll send you one but it won't have Quakkas. Not unless you want to wait for three months as I'm going back to spend the night on Rottnest (and hopefulll smuggle some Quakka's back with me). I doubt you want to wait so I'll find a really cool one for you...
 
I shall have an instant one and a 3 month one. Get to it!
 
How ironic is it that Simon spelt Typyro wrong?

VERY IRONIC.
 
i am in an airport (dublin) waiting my flight....to amsterdam...after a slight mishap involving my passport in my dads car. Its all good now!!! cos we're here!!!
 
Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?